Just to catch up

I am about 30 minutes away from the start of a speaking event on Intellectual Property, holding at my Centre for Cultural Policy Studies today. I thought I should steal a few moments and catch up with you on the Media Junkie blog.

How is my research going?
I am just on my 6th week and it feels like I’m a qualified Methuselah at this prestigious thing we call a PhD. I’m so loving every minute of my research even it requires enduring neck pains from bending into a computer for hours, scraps of papers and post-its littering my bedroom and the ink stains on each and every and handbag I possess. I am not complaining – just stating facts.

Things I’ve learnt thus far:
I have learnt how to deliver good academic presentations, not content-wise, but how to carry oneself when facing an audience and to deal with the nerves that threaten to turn your knees to jell-o.

My supervisor also introduced me to the system of filing soft-documents (PDFs etc.) such that I can easily access them when and where I need to. I stepped up the classes a notch by purchasing the iAnnotate app for my iPad to do my readings – ever since then, I’ve been a walking library. If you spot me at the bus stop, on the bus or waiting a few minutes for a friend to exit a hall, high chances are that I am reading a journal article. It is just a fabulous application every academic must possess.

I have also improved in my time management skills and learnt to say no ( that is, to not say yes to every request that taxes my time). 24 hours per day is not enough for a researcher, but I bet you already know this and I sound like a broken record.

My alarm to start moving towards the Centre just went off… So I guess I’ll have to come back here and give you more gist. Meanwhile, kindly brief on what your past weeks have been like – I just need to know I am not alone in this world 🙂

Cheers.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Just to catch up

  1. Gemma Sidney says:

    Aaaah good old time management… Sounds like you’re doing well with it! I haven’t been doing so well with that lately. My last few weeks have been extremely hectic. Every few days I’ve been going to a new French city/town to catch up with different friends or family. It means I haven’t had time to update my blog…

    The past few days I’ve been getting up at 6am to take care of my baby nephew, which has been great because I find I can get so much more done when the days are longer! Perhaps I will force myself to become a morning person…

  2. aloted says:

    Aha! No wonder I didnt hear from you again re my request…RME at ya..lol

    Well done and keep up the good work.. 🙂

    Time management is really key.

Leave a Reply

