The P-Jays of a Career Girl

Someone clicked on this post imagining I was going to talk about real PYJAMAS… *Shake My Head* 😀

Full Title: The Pains & Joys of a Career Girl

Ms. Modish

I am an avid fiction reader. Titles that always make my cut border around plots set in academic environments or career-focused heroines. This is why Louise Bagshawe’s Career Girls is gingerly peering down at me from my bookshelf, sandwiched between massive auto-biographies and media textbooks. I particularly love when the heroine is a successful author, top music executive, high power broker in Hollywood or a fashion magazine publisher – they just give me the adrenaline boost. These novels have a way of milking the glam side of that busy life, while leaving out the hard-work intense hard-work bit and of course the sacrifices.

It then occurred to me that I could balance out the fantasy by asking career girls to describe what it feels like – the pains, joys and challenges. It’s not just about flying from city to city cradling an iPhone or the latest Blackberry (androids, please make way :P), spotting red-soled heels and giving Beyonce a run for her looks. There is more to it than glitz and glam.

I embarked on an e-vox-populi of career girls, to tell me how they felt about being career girls:

Catherine – a consultant with a top-10 global management firm

Being a career girl is a continuous balancing act…a continuous struggle to balance being taken seriously as a woman and retaining your unique feminity.

Chika – the Naija Careerist

It’s a great feeling knowing that you are going after your true aspirations while still rocking a pair of heels.

Damilola – Ms Modish

Basically,i’m waiting for my big break, when I can determine where and how my time is spent.

Romola- Fashion Editor, Haute Fashion Africa

Being a career girl comes with the satisfaction I had always hoped i’d derive in the fashion industry. Nothing tops knowing that i want to be the best fashion editor around, thereby giving me the motivation to give fashion editing my 100%.

Jennifer – A passionate Poet, Journalist & Social Entrepreneur

Ms. Modish

To be honest, I didn’t set out to be a career girl o! I think I just naturally got stereotyped by people because I love books and have high aspirations. Wait, is that what it means to be a career girl? I used to joke with my friends that I would end up as a full time stay at home mum (modern for full time work from home). Okay, don’t know if i’m answering your question. But the bottom line is that I have no apology for being a little over ambitious than the average girl next door. I just love attempting things bigger, learning, learning and learning new things to progress and grow and in the process expand my horizon. This comes with the huge sacrifice of being stereotyped as a “career girl” with no room for them to understand that you still work with your two feet touching the ground.

I have also had to give up a lot of things. I feel sorry for the little girl inside of me. Sometimes I feel I overwork her when all she really wants is to have fun. Well, as the saying goes, work now and play later.

I’m learning to balance it all  – work, study, career, social and spiritual life- all rolled into one exciting pack.

Back to Me

In my books, theses wonderful women (all in their 20s by the way)  have said it all, and I am mega proud of them.

The summary here is that being career focused comes with a sense of fulfilment from every step you take up the ladder to something as minute as the personally-paid-for handbag you are carrying. Call them Miss Independent, *shrugs*.

The challenge of being in this category is that you always seem to miss out on all the fun your contemporaries are having (in the long term, I see that as an advantage), in some industries, you probably have to work twice as hard to prove your mettle and get your head far above water level. In most instances, you are not in control of your time, and your social life feels the heat. However, nothing can compare to the joy of sitting in that chair and knowing deep down in your heart, that you are just where you want to be.

As 2011 wraps itself up neatly, I wish  everyone a fantastic Christmas and a 2012 loaded with massive promotions in our respective careers.

  • Remember, work hard and play hard!!!
  • I just might see you before the new year. If I don’t – *cue in fireworks*
  • Thanks for staying here with me.

Media Junkie

12 thoughts on “The P-Jays of a Career Girl

  1. kiki says:

    Nice one! I can relate. Love the fact that you shared stories of young women just like me.

  2. Joachim says:

    Nice piece, cos its real.

    Contrary to what you may have been told, things don’t get easier as you go higher. You merely trade one set of problems for another. Just wanted to clear that up.

    Merry christmas and happy new year. 🙂

  3. Jen Poet says:

    I read this in a bus. With a smile on my face. You are such a beautiful writer! Thanks for sharing! Aha! Sounds like all the career girls are pro at balancing it all *wide grin*

  4. TheRustGeek says:

    Interesting.. though I suspect you might get a different view from people depending on age and the societal context within which they live. Bottom line though is people have to choose what their priorities are in life and focus on them, some may be mutually exclusive, for others there might be a way to hammer out a compromise…..

    whatever rocks each one’s boat I reckon…

  5. lawwyy says:

    that kind of woman most men couldnt handle 🙂

  6. Nice one, I cant disagree with this, noting that you have kept to a certain age range. However ladies should not let their careers overshadow the great qualities in them less they become like the men who are trying to strike a balance.

  7. More Women should be encouraged to venture into entrepreneurship and pursuit of their desired careers where there are no discriminations or complexes.

    Great post.

    NB: more independent women less probs for we guyz.. no?

  8. miss moyegs says:

    nice1, wat of entrepreneur’s ………………………………??/

  9. Swap Queen says:

    I am with TheRustGeek on this.

    I appreciate this post is probably addressing ladies in their 20s and maybe single but I’ll chip in from a married not 20 year old perspective 🙂

    When I was single, career was way on the top of my list. I really enjoyed my consulting job, jumping from one state to the other and basically living inside my suitcase lol. I did my masters etc. Now that I am married with a bambino, career has taken a bit of a back seat in my life as my focus has changed. I can’t imagine taking job now that involves travelling. I still have a job but I am more choosy in what type of roles I apply for. Of cuz some married women still have career on the top of their list. To each his own really.

    My take is make the best use of your career when single cuz when you are married the dynamics might change depending on your priority of cuz.

    Merry Christmas!

  10. Enigma says:

    Balancing is really never easy,the boss(at work),the other boss(at home(your Parents\husband\Kids) and YOU(outside the workplace).While its a fantastic is keep going hgher,a close knit family,a stronghold of ‘carefully chosen’ friends and a healthy spiritual life needs to be in place…..cos the higher you go,the painfully lonely it gets(especially where there is a stiff competition).

  11. Thank you for this piece Tomi it was simply so lovely and striking. I feel sometimes strong black women are not recognized enough and I feel this piece is a shoutout to them !!!

  12. Banke Olatunde says:

    I think i find it wonderful,ladies going “careers” and professional but we must realise that career and home have always been had as two contrasting fields.Really,u might find what makes u happy today euphoric in the later years of ur life as life is in times and seasons; when the reality of life sets in. Cos the true fulfilment in life is evident in what life gives back to you after giving so much;as u get ephemeral dividends from total careers but another full blown life from a happy home.
    My ground is, build a wonderful career now in the early years,follow it, then incorporate “compromise factors” that’ll enable u cope with the challenges of marriage having it in mind that career is addictive and jealous, but more jealous is ur home!

Leave a Reply

