How to “Rock my Research”

One of the best forms of learning is that in which you gain from other people’s experiences. When you have a very graphic mind like mine, you go as far as visualising yourself walking in the exact same shoes of the narrator, spotting the areas he/she could have done better and navigating yourself (in your minds eye) to an even better path.

This was my experience when listening to Prof. Alison Rodger at the Rock my Research event in school a few days ago.

The purpose of the event was to launch a platform for PhD students and early career researchers to form connections,  collaborations and bridges through their work, in a bid to build us for the future of academia which is – Multidisciplinary Research.  For instance, I was in a group called Digital Change (mostly because my research is around democracy and digital media), but right beside was my new friend Edward, who was studying the politics of Serious Games from a managerial perspective. It was amazing, here we were, all somehow tied to DIGITAL but from different perspectives, and interesting ones I might add.

We were told to join groups from way-outside our research, this was the idea – challenge yourself to get familiar with a new field, new ideas, broaden your knowledge-base and use of language and most importantly, Break Barriers! However, I still couldn’t bring myself to join the Health- Technologies group, my mind just couldn’t fathom what the content of such a collaboration would be – but you never know.

Let’s go back to Prof. Roger. I tweeted a few bullets from her talk recently:

To share a few more points I learnt on multidisciplinary research from Prof. Rodgers, and how to go about it, here we go:

From a successful PhD to a successful Professor, a lot of things change but 5 things don’t:

  • Scientific skill (more generally research skills)
  • Creativity (but less time)
  • Flexibility
  • Tenacity
  • Collegiality
What is Multidisciplinarity?
If a discipline is a way of thinking, then multi-disciplinary is being able to think and talk in the languages of different disciplines. One person can’t teach it.
Prof Rodger went on to enumerate and explain why multidisciplinarity  in research is important, what researchers stand to gain from it and the step-by-step approach to Just Do IT like Nike. These are points that cannot be rushed at all – they need to chewed, digested and filtered into a researcher’s bloodstream – therefore, I beg to pause and drop my Golden Pen (or keyboard) here.
Watch out for  “How to Rock my Research 2” … or better still follow us on Facebook here –>>

Media Junkie
5 thoughts on “How to “Rock my Research”

  1. Great blog! Multi- and inter-disciplinary methods are definitely the way to go if you want to keep your mind open to new possibilities and if you want to understand the TRUE meanings of media, science, art…nothing exists in a vacuum. The trouble is, it can be hard to keep focused and on track when there are so many fascinating things out there in the world of “digital”! Or is that just me? 😉

  2. Tomexy says:

    Thank you @musiingsfrommanchester 🙂

    It surely is the way to go … but i still haven’t gotten round how to dig into it, perhaps because the thesis is taking up my night and day. However, keeping it in mind is step towards it right, lol.

    You’ve got a great blog!
    I just stumbled on it this afternoon while looking up “public sphere” diagrams. Really cool.

    • Thanks for your kind words! Love your attitude. Will keep following! Where are you based anyway? Maybe I’m being dumb but couldn’t see an “about” page…

      • Tomexy says:

        That’s so kind…I’ll keep following yours as well!

        Are you on Twitter?

        Im a phd student at Warwick uni…my research blog is blogs.warwick.ac.uk/toladepo

        My about page here needs a “clean up” lol, but the “media junkie speaks” tab is it.

        So great to meet you.

  3. No Twitter for me yet but have been thinking about it… Warwick isn’t far from here, maybe I’ll bump into you at a conference sometime! Kathleen x

Leave a Reply

