Nigerian Newspapers on Twitter

I am in the middle of seeking respondents for my research; like Alice in Wonderland, it’s led me into the territory of checking out Nigerian newspaper houses and their Twitter follower counts. 

Vaguely, I am assuming this is indicative of popularity, at least online (you never know what their sales figures are). 

In addition, I am looking at Follow 2 Follower count . To me, this is telling on the willingness/priority of that newspaper house to engage with the online audiences (another index would be Twitter mentions & responses to followers). A prime example is BBC Africa’s twitter account. As at this date, May 20th, 2013, it is @ 1, 984 (follows) to 194, 698 followers. BBC Africa also has a BBC Africa Have Your Say account, that is more generous with following, and is even more active in interacting with listeners, at 6, 0238 to 34, 908. 
 
My research is on new digital media and democratic culture in Nigeria, a sphere where journalism plays a huge role – in informing the public, publishing public opinion, providing rich analysis of public issues etc.! I am curious as to how they use this online space.  I will start by scratching the surface of what I see, their Twitter Accounts. 
 
Let’s get on with filling the table below – the list is in no particular order, and note that this is the count as at today, May 20, 2013: 
 
Newspaper Twitter Following Twitter Followers
Vanguard 79 204, 850
The Guardian 7 79, 986
ThisDay Live 1 77, 513
Punch  2, 548 176, 055
The Sun 60 324, 597
Nigerian Tribune  31 9, 698
The Nation 569 42, 131
Leadership 140 41, 978
Compass 56 520
Daily Trust 19 67, 803
Daly Independent 17 682
Daily Times (0 Tweets) 84 100
For more information on Nigerian Newspapers on the Internet, visit this page
Do you have a favourite Nigerian newspaper? Why? 
 
P.S. If there is any newspaper organisation missing (especially in the national category) please drop a comment also. 
Media Junkie
Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Nigerian Newspapers on Twitter

  1. motilolaakin says:

    Well done Tomi! You just have a way of making research interesting :). In answering whether I have a favourite newspaper, I think it depends on the hat I’m wearing. As a journalism student, I do not necessarily have a favourite Nigerian newspaper becasue I think at the end of the day, each newspaper has an agenda and would prefer to frame issues from particular perspectives. While I try to enjoy a nicely written newspaper artricle, flash lights as per ‘what are they really trying to say? whose side are they on’ keeps going off in my head lol. I guess that’s why there are in existence anyway. And before I forget, newspaper organisations are also businesses whose aim at the end of the day is to make money. However, as a citizen (and of course a one-time journalist :D), I enjoy reading Punch. Maybe it has something to do with the layout or because my dad is an ardent Punch fan. I love reading the viewpoint and opinion pages, they make my day anytime! Oh sorry, I almost forgot this isn’t my blog and I shouldn’t keep going on and on…. 🙂

    P.S: Thanks for writing this post today, it made me go on my blog too and I found an eight-month old post in my draft folder! Arrrggghhh, this PhD is doing my head in oooo

    • Tee says:

      Hahaha! It’s doing everyone’s head in, just wear your “helmet” and try to have fun lol.

      Thanks for your kind words Moti 🙂

  2. Muyiwa Faulkner says:

    Nice work Dr Tomi… I like various papers for various sections… I like this day for style and entertainment and to check the various advertising trends. For News about Ogun State I go with Compass, State of the Nation will be Punch, ‘Iriri aye’ is The Sun, Vanguard has fantastic columinists..the rest of them are just there!

  3. Hi there. Nice blog. You have shared useful information. Keep up the good work! This blog is really interesting and gives good details. For more information visit:- Nigerian newspapers

  4. Linus says:

    I must begin by commending you for knocking out such a great article that makes interesting reading. It’s conspicuous from the table above that our newspapers are beginning to gain popularity as opposed to those years of emerging journalism. Of a truth, pulling many followers doesn’t in any way mean you’ve got a stronghold on our audience.
    To answer the question posed at the end isn’t easy, as I buy newspapers for a variety of reasons. My mornings usually begin with The Daily Sun. I’ve read The Sun for ages. I love the way their stories are packaged, and the panache with which their columnists couch their opinions.

Leave a Reply

